There are no changes to the Toulouse XV, but the bench includes the son of the former Leinster striker

There are no changes to the Toulouse XV, but the bench includes the son of the former Leinster striker

Investec Champions Cup finalists Toulouse named the same starting team they fielded in their semi-final against Harlequins in early May, but changed their bench for this Saturday’s final with the inclusion of Joshua Brennan in place of Mathis Castro-Ferreira.

The French team won 38-26 over their Gallagher Premiership rivals on May 5 and with replacement Santiago Chocobares cleared to take his place on the bench following the expiration of his provisional suspension, it means Brennan’s appointment is the only alteration in his party. Day 23 to face Leinster in Tottenham.

Brennan will be a familiar name for Leo Cullen’s Irish side as the 22-year-old is the son of Trevor, the former Irish defender who joined Toulouse from Leinster in the early 2000s, winning European and Top titles. 14 with The French club.

He remained in the area after his retirement, with his eldest son Daniel, 25, becoming a Brive mainstay in Pro D2 and Joshua becoming part of the Toulouse group.

Brennan has started at tight or open side on 11 occasions in his 16 Top 14 appearances this season and has now been named for a fifth Champions Cup appearance this season on his club bench.


Investec Champions Cup



That bench has a five-three forward/back split, unlike Leinster, who shuffled their replacements and selected six substitutes and just two backs for the final.

Leinster have also made three changes to their starting XV, including the appointment of Jason Jenkins in the second row ahead of James Ryan.

TOULOUSE: 15. Blair Kinghorn; 14. Juan Cruz Mallia, 13. Pablo Costes, 12. Pita Ahki, 11. Matthis Lebel; 10. Romain Ntamack, 9. Antoine Dupont (captain); 1. Cyril Baille, 2. Peato Mauvaka, 3. Dorian Aldegheri, 4. Thibaud Flament, 5. Emmanuel Meafou, 6. Jack Willis, 7. Fran├žois Cros, 8. Alexandre Roumat. Representatives: 16. Julien Marchand, 17. Rodrigue Neti, 18. Joel Merkler, 19. Richie Arnold, 20. Joshua Brennan, 21. Paul Graou, 22. Santiago Chocobares, 23. Thomas Ramos.