Is my MP retiring? Complete list of current deputies who resigned their seats before the general…

Is my MP retiring?  Complete list of current deputies who resigned their seats before the general…

May 23, 2024, 1:22 pm | Updated: May 23, 2024, 16:52

L-R: Dominic Raab, Theresa May, Matt Hancock, Margaret Beckett, Graham Bradey, Sajid Javid, Kwasi Kwarteng, Caroline Lucas

From left to right: Dominic Raab, Theresa May, Matt Hancock, Margaret Beckett, Graham Bradey, Sajid Javid, Kwasi Kwarteng, Caroline Lucas.

Image: Alamy

More than 100 MPs are throwing in the towel and resigning ahead of the next general election, including a former prime minister, cabinet ministers and some of the longest-serving members.

The vast majority of MPs who called it a day are members of the Conservative Party, more than at any time since the 1997 election, which culminated in a landslide Labor victory.

Many Conservatives reportedly intended to stagger their resignations over the coming weeks and months ahead of elections scheduled for the fall. But now many are expected to hand in their letters of resignation to leave the House of Commons and the electorate will go to the polls in just six weeks.

Some of the best-known faces leaving frontline politics include former Labor deputy leader Harriet Harman, Britain’s first foreign secretary Dame Margaret Beckett and long-serving Green MP Caroline Lucas, and former Prime Minister Theresa May.

Here, LBC has completed a full list of MPs who will resign before the next general election.

Read more: LIVE: Parties begin campaigns ahead of general elections as battle for votes begins

Read more: Rishi Sunak’s iconic smoking ban ‘will be abandoned’ as there is no time for legislation to be passed before the general election

The Palace of Westminster

The Palace of Westminster.

Image: Alamy

Follow the LBC Live General Election Blog to find out all the twists and turns of the campaign train and listen to LBC live on Global playerour official application

Conservative Party

  • Mike Penning: Hemel Hempstead
  • Sajid Javid: Bromsgrove
  • Charles Walker: Broxbourne
  • Dehenna Davison: Bishop Auckland
  • Gary Streeter: South West Devon
  • Adam Afriyie: Windsor
  • Chloe Smith: Norwich North
  • Andrew Percy: Brigg and Goole
  • Douglas Ross: Moray
  • Mark Pawsey: rugby
  • George Eustice: Camborne and Redruth
  • Edward Timpson: Eddisbury
  • Jo Gideon: Stoke-on-Trent Central
  • Paul Beresford: Mole Valley
  • Stephen McPartland: Stevenage
  • Robin Walker: Worcester
  • Sir Graham Brady: Altrincham and Sale West
  • Pauline Latham: Middle Derbyshire
  • Nicola Richards: West Bromwich East
  • Stuart Anderson: Wolverhampton South West
  • Gordon Henderson: Sittingbourne and Sheppey
  • Craig Whittaker: Calder Valley
  • Henry Smith: Crawley
  • John Howell: Henley
  • Jonathan Djanogly: Huntingdon
  • Matthew Offord: Hendon
  • Alister Jack: Dumfries and Galloway
  • Robert Goodwill: Scarborough and Whitby
  • Richard Bacon: South Norfolk
  • Dominic Raab: Esher and Walton
  • Philip Dunne: Ludlow
  • Will Fifteen: Colchester
  • Royston Smith: Southampton Itchen
  • Cash bill: Stone
  • Lucy Allan: Telford
  • Steve Brine: Winchester
  • Trudy Harrison: Copeland
  • Nickie Aiken: Cities of London and Westminster
  • Stuart Andrew: Pudsey
  • John Baron: Basildon and Billericay
  • Lisa Cameron: East Kilbride
  • Andy Carter: Warrington South
  • Chris Clarkson: Heywood and Middleton
  • Dame Tracey Crouch: Chatham and Aylesford
  • Sir James Duddridge: Rochford and Southend East
  • Mike Freer: Finchley and Golders Green
  • Nick Gibb: Bognor Regis and Littlehampton
  • Chris Grayling: Epsom and Ewell
  • Robert Halfon: Harlow
  • Stephen Hammond: Wimbledon
  • Oliver Heald: North East Hertfordshire
  • James Heappey: Wells
  • David Jones: Clwyd West
  • Greg Knight: East Yorkshire
  • Kwasi Kwarteng: Spelthorne
  • Brandon Lewis, Great Yarmouth
  • Tim Loughton: East Worthing and Shoreham
  • Theresa May: Maidenhead
  • Dr Kieran Mullan: Crewe and Nantwich
  • Sir Robert Neill: Bromley and Chislehurst
  • Paul Scully: Sutton and Cheam
  • Alok Sharma: Reading the West
  • Ben Wallace: Wyre and Preston North
  • Dr Jamie Wallis: Bridgend
  • Nadhim Zahawi: Stratford-on-Avon
  • Chris Heaton-Harris: Daventry
  • Jo Churchill: Bury St Edmunds
  • Dame Eleanor Laing: Epping Forest
  • Huw Merriman: Bexhill and the battle

Labor Party

  • Alex Cunningham: Stockton North
  • Margaret Hodge: Barking
  • Barry Sheerman: Huddersfield
  • Harriet Harman: Camberwell and Peckham
  • Alan Whitehead: Southampton Test
  • Ben Bradshaw: Exeter
  • Wayne David: Caerphilly
  • Paul Blomfield: Sheffield Central
  • Rosie Winterton: Doncaster Central
  • Margaret Beckett: Derby South
  • Jon Cruddas: Dagenham and Rainham
  • Colleen Fletcher: Coventry North East
  • Margaret Greenwood; Wirall West
  • George Howarth: Knowsley North
  • Karen Buck: Westminster North
  • Natalie Elphicke: Dover and Deal
  • Ian Mearns: Gateshead
  • Dr Dan Poulter: Central Suffolk and North Ipswich
  • Christina Rees: below
  • Holly Lynch: Halifax
  • Yvonne Fovargue: Makerfield

Green Party

  • Caroline Lucas: Brighton Pavilion

Scottish National Party

  • Mhairi Black: Paisley and South Renfrewshire
  • Douglas Chapman: Dunfermline and West Fife
  • Angela Crawley: Lanark and Hamilton East
  • Patrick Grady: North Glasgow
  • Peter Grant: Glenrothes and Central Fife
  • Stewart Hosie: Dundee East
  • John McNally: Falkirk
  • Phillipa Whitford: Ayrshire Center
  • Ian Blackford: Ross, Skye and Lochaber

Cymru plaid

Sinn Fein

  • Mickey Brady: Newry and Armagh
  • Francie Molloy: Middle Ulster


  • Matt Hancock: West Suffolk (previously Conservative)
  • Bob Stewart: Beckenham (formerly Conservative)
  • Nick Brown: Newcastle upon Tyne East (formerly Labour)
  • Conor McGinn: St Helens North (formerly Labour)
  • Julian Knight: Solihull (previously Conservative)
  • Crispin Blunt: Reigate (formerly Conservative)
  • Mark Menzies: Fylde (formerly Conservative)